Bobbing for Apple (Or shut up the ‘droid fanboys!)

I’ve just been reading this post linked to by a friend who’s a devout fan of all things Microsoft. He seems to have taken some perverse pleasure in the lack of breathtaking advances in the new iPhone 5 announced today. I don’t understand why all the ‘droid fanboys feel the need to belittle everything Apply release? Over a 1,000 posts in 24 hours? Really?

While I might be tempted to agree that there doesn’t seem to be any significant change to the iPhone with the 6th iteration of the device, I think it’s more a case of it being the fact that they got it /so/ right on the first occasion than a lack of innovation in the design team now.

As a (somewhat unlikely) comparison I’ll direct you to the Sky TV remote control; with the exception of the addition of buttons to control the DVR, it hasn’t changed at all since day one of its release. Why? Because it is perhaps the best example of a remote, ever.

The same goes for the iOS devices, in particular the iPhone which is just natural to use, intuitive, smooth and damned good to look at.

I won’t talk down Android devices (unlike the Apply haters), I just feel that, much like Microsoft and the PC builders of the 90s, there is no set standard and so you never know what you’re going to get. Every other device I’ve tried since buying an iPhone has just felt… Clunky? And that includes Samsung Galaxy’s, Lumia’s, Windows Phones…

Yes, they’re bloody expensive. Or are other devices just cheap? I think it’s probably the latter and, in my experience, the performance, reliability and interoperability of all my Apple devices are second to none and well worth that extra price tag. My MacBook Pro is now over 2 years old and I am in no rush to upgrade it, it’s still faster and more capable than most laptops of a comparable price running high end graphics and audio software I’d need a desktop PC worth several £,000s to run properly. I’ve only just stopped using an iPhone 3GS (handed down to my son) as it still cut the mustard with every function I wanted from a smartphone, my iPad 2 will have a home for several years to come as I don’t need a retina display on a tablet screen (especially with my eyesight!), I offloaded my iPhone 4 to my wife as my iPad let’s me FaceTime and she needed a phone which allowed her to do the same and my Apple TV is the centre of my home’s media experience.

Will I buy and iPhone 5? Damn right! Do I think it’s about to become the best smartphone on the market? Doubtful. What I do know though, is that it will do everything I want it to, when I want it to. And that, to be honest, is my reason for buying Apple. It does what it says on the tin, and does it very, very, well.

At the end of the day it all comes down to personal taste. And I like Apple.

Leave a Reply

