The new iPad… Worth the hype?

Right… Call me silly but, is the ‘new’ iPad really worth all the hype/money? (Oh, and there is a caveat… I am an Apple addict!!)

Yes, I know there are a ridiculous amount of pixels on the Retina Display, but I always thought the 1024 on the iPad 2 were good enough… Come to that, even the 1280 pixels on my 13″ MacBook Pro are pretty good. In high quality pictures I struggle to see the pixelation on photos, movies are always crystal clear and, to be honest, I can’t remember ever thinking “Ooh, that pixelation’s unbearable”!

Then there’s the camera… Why would I want a better camera on an iPad? I have enough trouble remembering there’s a camera on my bloody phone!! I doubt I’ll ever use what is, to all intents and purpose, a laptop replacement as a camera? My main concern is the front facing camera as that’ll allow me to see my children while they’re at school or in the UK while I’m away…

It scores the same in performance tests as the iPad 2, has the same speed of processor (it’s only the graphics core which is quad core), it runs at 1.6 fps of the the iPad 2, a negligible result in my book, and has already been proven to run warm/hot due to the processing requirements/battery performance, a phenomenon never experienced in the previous versions…

Oh, and don’t even get me started on the LTE capability… While announcing this immense uplift in connectivity capability during the Keynote speech they completely forgot to mention that it will not be available for anyone outside the US, unless they travel to the US, as our providers are planning on using a different frequency for the technology than AT&T (yes, AT&T, Verizon have their own model of ‘new’ iPad!).

And I can now get a new 64GB, WiFi and 3G iPad 2 for £300-400, less that 60% of the price of a similarly spec’d ‘new’ iPad… Why bother?

Leave a Reply

