Pastures New…

Those of you who are fans of, or follow, the band I sing with, Morpheus Rising, will have seen the Press Release announcing my departure as vocalist for the band. This decision was not taken lightly and it was perhaps one of the hardest, and yet easiest, decisions I’ve ever had to make.

Over the last 3 years I have been fortunate, not only to have played with some of the most consummate musicians I have ever known, but I have also been honoured to be able to call those same people, and the extended circle we’ve created/joined, my friends. Pete, Gibbo, Daymo and Andy have become good friends not only to myself but to my family as well. It is for this reason that the decision was hard. The reason it was easy was that the rest of it involved a decision that directly affected my family.

I’m not leaving all together. I have worked on other aspects of the band’s world over the last few years including its online presence in all its forms and will continue to do so. I simply cannot commit to the role of vocalist any more.

To many people this decision may need explaining and this is my attempt at that explanation.

When Pete and I first got together to add lyrics to his music I told him

I’ll quite happily write and record with you, but I won’t be able to perform it live…

Pete, Daymo and myself on stage, giving it LARGE!

I said this due to my ‘real’ job. I’m a serving soldier and, as such, am liable to changes in my personal circumstances at a moment’s notice. Of course, it didn’t last long! The songs we created excited me and rekindled a passion for music which has been one of the greatest gifts this whole experience has provided me. Before meeting Pete I hadn’t performed, or worked, with anyone else for almost 13 years and I’d forgotten how much I enjoyed it.

As all of you will be only too aware these are trying times for everyone and, unlike previous economic hard times in this country, it is actually having an impact on the Armed Forces as well. So much so that, until a very short time ago I was considering a career change. All that changed when I returned to work a fortnight ago and was offered a chance which can only be described as a ‘once in a lifetime’ opportunity for both myself and my family.

I have been offered a job in Kenya for the next few years which will afford both my wife and children opportunities and experiences which I would never forgive myself were I to turn it down, it is also a new and challenging role for myself which can only enhance my career and future employment prospects.

My only regret in the whole situation is with regards to Morpheus Rising. The band has grown far beyond my expectations far sooner than I thought possible. We have achieved far greater things than I ever hoped and I am sure that Morpheus Rising will continue to grow and do great things.

The band are continuing to record the material for the album and are currently searching for a new vocalist, I look forward to meeting him before I go anywhere and wishing him all the best.*

I hope that you will all continue to support them in all they do, I certainly will.

Pete, Daymo, Gibbo and Andy, thank you for some of the most amazing memories of my adult life. I am proud to call you my friends and look forward to working with you, albeit in a different role, in the future.

All the best,

Grae
Morpheus Rising (For a little while longer at least!)

* If you can think of anyone you feel may be suitable to work with the band as the new vocalist then please recommend them to the guys at info@morpheusrising.co.uk

5 thoughts on “Pastures New…

  1. Grae, i’m sorry about the news mate….you were deffo going places i’m sure. Pretty chuffed about your assignment to Kenya….bit drastic mate but chuffed for you. Nice citation over your descent from the band by the way….ever thought of becoming a columnist.

    All the best to you and the family bro….take care

    • Paul,
      Cheers for that mate. It was all picking up this year, the album, some really good (but unannounced as yet) gigs lined up etc, but hey! These things happen ;o)
      Hopefully we’ll see you, Lyns and the rest of the family soon?
      All the best,
      Grae

  2. As a friend of one of the band I know how much the guys care about you and your family and even though it is with regret I know that having your presence still part of them (even from 1000’s of miles away) they will continue to get even stronger. I may not attend the gigs or be stood there screaming your names in person, but I do follow and read all you guys do.
    It is on this note that I read, laughed, cried and totally loved your blogs whilst you where in Afghanistan and I truly hope you will have time and energy to allow us to follow you in a new blog of your time in Kenya.
    I wish you and your family the most amazing time xxx

    • Sarah,
      Thanks for your comments. I’m amazed at the feedback we’ve had, as are the rest of the guys.
      I’m sure I’ll find the time to continue SFATD while I’m away and who knows what will come out of it!
      Thanks again,
      Grae

  3. Pingback: Swan Song, Part Two. « Songs from a Distant Theatre

Leave a Reply

